Tuesday, September 6, 2016

2016 Freeman Prize

Sampsa Hyysalo, Torben Elgaard Jensen, and Nelly Oudshoorn just let us know that the book they edited, entitled New Production of Users - Changing Innovation Collectives and Involvement Strategies (Routledge), has received the 2016 Freeman Prize, which is awarded "for a publication which is a significant collective contribution to the interaction of science and technology studies with the study of innovation" by the European Association for the Study of Science and Technology ("EASST").  This award honors "Professor Chris Freeman, renowned expert on the social and economic consequences of developments in science and technology".  Eric von Hippel and I were invited to contribute a chapter, which we coauthored and named "Protecting the Right to Innovate:  Our Innovation "Wetlands"".

Thank you very much to Sampsa, Torben, and Nelly for their wonderful leadership in producing this book!  They deserve the lion's share of the congratulations for winning the Freeman Prize.